NEREN’s purposes are to:

(1) maximize the educational and information exchange potential of communication network resources by developing advanced networking among Members of the Corporation through regional cooperation and collaboration;

(2) pool the ever-expanding body of regional scientific, medical, and educational expertise to support the research, education and healthcare communities; and

(3) extend the benefits of its activities to promote technology transfer, economic and workforce development, and network security for government, the nonprofit community, and the broader society.

The Corporation has eight (8) classes of Members. Those Classes consist of seven (7) “State” Classes of Members and one “At Large” Class of Members. The names of the initial State Classes are as follows: (i) Connecticut, (ii) Massachusetts, (iii) New York, (iv) Rhode Island, (v) Maine, (vi) New Hampshire, and (vii) Vermont.

It is our intention to have two representatives from each class as directors on the Board of Directors. Each class will nominate one or more persons for the position of director representing their class, and the Board will elect a nominee.

The Directors and Officers of NEREN are:

Jeff Letourneau (ME)
Executive Director, Networkmaine
University of Maine System

The Office of the president remains vacant

David Marble (RI)
President and CEO

Chris Misra (MA)
Chief Technology Officer
University of Massachusetts at Amherst


Michael R. Mundrane, Ph.D. (CT)
Vice Provost for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
University of Connecticut  / Connecticut Education Network

Bruce Segee (ME)
Associate Professor in Computer and Electrical Engineering
University of Maine

Brian Shepperd (NH)
Director of Broadband Services
ConnectNH – Information Technology
University of New Hampshire

Timothy Lance (NY)
Chief Research Officer

William Thirsk (NY)
Vice President of Information Technology and
Chief Information Officer
Marist College

David Porter (RI)
Director, Media and Technology Services
University of Rhode Island

Julia Russell (VT)
Associate Chief Information Officer
Department of Enterprise Technology Services
University of Vermont

Tom Maguire (VT)
Director of Network Services
Vermont State Colleges